No announcement yet.

No Champions Trophy After 2013


Unconfigured Ad Widget

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • No Champions Trophy After 2013

    The 2013 Champions Trophy in England will bring the curtains down on the 14-year-old tournament, with the ICC moving towards having one championship for each of the game's three formats from 2015. While the play-offs for the World Test Championship is scheduled for June 2017, the 50-over tournament, started way back in 1998, does not figure in the International Cricket Council's Future Tours Program after 2013.

    "If you don't see it in the schedule, it means it is not planned for the future," ICC's Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat told reporters after the executive board meeting on Monday. "We have said for a while that we would like one championship event for each format. We are including the Test championship in there. We have the World Cup to have the champion for 50-over cricket. So we are not planning to hold Champions Trophy in the future," he added.

    After the inaugural edition of the tournament was held in 1998 as the ICC Knock Out tournament, the Champions Trophy was played every two years until 2009. Originally, all ten full members of the ICC took part, along with two associate members in the first four editions.

    The 2013 event will feature the eight highest-ranked ODI teams. The World Test Championship was initially scheduled for 2013 but had to be postponed to 2017 due to the ICC's commitments to its broadcaster and sponsors.